3rd Annual Whatashort Independent International Film Festival concludes successfully

12 . Jul . 2017
Reading Time: 2 minutes

The 3rd annual Whatashort Independent International Film Festival (WIIFF2017) comes to a successful end this weekend in the capital. The two day festival was witnessed by 900+ people watching 14+ hours of short films submitted from 34 countries. The festival, was held at Instituto Cervantes, was announced open by Carlos Varona Narvion, Director of Instituto Cervantes, Jatin Sarna, Bollywood and theater artist and Whatashort Founder Ravie Solanky.

The screening was kicked off with a Spanish short film FAW, which was followed by a plethora of short films from all categories selected by the jury members, Anurag Arora, bollywood actor and Michael Wong, International filmmaker.

First day there was special screening of Laal Taj, Rage, Sneh whereas on the second day they screened in special non-competitive section The School Bag and Amma Meri.

The short film industry is growing and keeping that in mind WIIFF conducted an interactive session between various filmmakers and audience. According to spokesperson of Whatashort, this festival was not only to showcase the best of short films but also to let their makers share their thoughts and reasons behind the film. It also provided them a platform to get acquainted with their audience. WIIFF also announced a new category of award, Independent Creator award that is aimed to honour and motivate the efforts of creators who are working solo yet making a difference. This year this award was given to creator Harshdeep Ahuja and Nazarbattu production.

The two day event saw the presence of various filmmakers like Thivanka Perera from Srilanka, Tarun Jain, Arun Jindal, Aashish Bal Raj Sharma, Madhureeta Anand, Dheeraj Jindal, team of Scoopwhoop’s film the Sneh. Other people who joined the WIIFF as special mentions were Vishal Chauhan, Actor Nitin Bhasin, Arun Jain, Nicolas Campagana Actor of Award winning film Baba .

The closing ceremony was concluded with a singing performance by Leena Verma followed by award distribution from the jury member Anurag Arora. The winning list is as follows:

Best Short film (Fiction) : Amrita aur Main, Living Idle
Best Short film (Student) : Moh Dia Tandhaa, Sanyog
Best Short film (Debut) : Silent Letter
Best Short film (Documentary) : Hartom
Best Short film (Women Filmmaker) : The Impasse
Best Short film (Disability Issue) : Well Done
Best Short film (LGBT) : FAW
Best Short film (on Women) : The Butterfly
Best Short film (on Religion) : Baba
Best Feature Film (Documentary) : SOZ
WIIFF2017 Young & Independent Creator Award : Harshdeep Ahuja, Nazarbattu Productions

The event came to an end with a promise from the team members, Ravie Solanky, Dimpy Dua & Rakaysh Kumar, of returning next year bigger and better.

The 3rd Whatashort Independent International Film Festival was presented in partnership with Instituto Cervantes as venue partner, Delhigram as social media platform, Applop as app platform, TheDigitalHash as content partner and ipitch.tv as marketplace partner.